Hoisin Sauce is a delicious, sweet and spicy, dark red sauce made up of garlic, vinegar (typically rice vinegar), and other spices. It is widely used in southern Chinese cooking, and sometimes in Vietnamese dishes. For Vietnamese cooking, hoisin sauce is known as ‘tương đen’, and is a popular condiment for phở.
Typically, it is not gluten free though! Some of the main components, such as soy sauce and vinegar, may contain wheat. Especially if you buy pre-made hoisin sauce at the store, you have to look out for this.
That is why it may be a good idea to make your own gluten free hoisin sauce at home!
Seven great gluten free hoisin sauce recipes:
- Easy Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce Recipe
- GF Hoisin Sauce (includes recipes for three unique versions)
- 5 Min Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce
- Homemade Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce Recipe
- Food Centric Life Homemade Hoisin Sauce
- Hoisin Sauce – Gluten Free with Soy Free Option
- Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce (video recipe)
Image credit: Food Centric Life
In addition, here are some gluten free hoisin sauce products if you’d prefer to purchase them pre-made:
- San-J Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce
An authentic Chinese favorite made by San-J. This Hoisin Sauce is made from San-J Tamari soy sauce with 100% soybeans and no wheat content, certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization and verified Non-GMO by the Non-GMO Project.
- Joyce Chen Gluten Free Products
Here you can find gluten free soy sauce and hoisin sauce made by Joyce Chen.
- Wok Mei All Natural Hoisin Sauce
Naturally gluten free hoisin sauce made by Wok Mei. Sold and distributed through Honest Foods, not currently available on Amazon. View the full ingredients here.
- Kikkoman Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce
Delicious and certified gluten free hoisin sauce from Kikkoman. View all Kikkoman gluten free products. Kikkoman makes gluten free soy sauce and gluten free tamari sauce if you want to use for your recipes as well!