Worcestershire sauce is a fermented liquid condiment created in the city of Worcester in Worcestershire, England, in the first half of the 19th century.
The creators were the chemists John Wheeley Lea and William Henry Perrins, who went on to form the company Lea & Perrins.
Question: Is Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce gluten free?
Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:
Lea & Perrins® Worcestershire Sauce is cholesterol free, fat-free, preservative free, gluten free and has 80% less sodium than soy sauce. Lea & Perrins is only confirmed to be gluten free in the US (additional source). For other regions, the ingredients may be different and may contain malt barley, so always check the label. Learn more on the Lea & Perrins Website.
The orange label bottle is NOT gluten free.
The beige label bottle is gluten free!
Distilled white vinegar, anchovies, garlic, molasses, onions, salt, sugar, water, chilli pepper extract, cloves, natural flavorings, tamarind extract
Contains: Fish (Anchovies)
4 thoughts on “Is Worcestershire Sauce Gluten Free”
How can Lea & Perkins Worcestershire sauce be gluten free if contains malt vinegar (barley) according to your label?.
Hi Lyn, we just double checked and confirmed that Lea & Perrins is gluten free, but this is for US only. It is possible that versions made in other regions are using the malt barley as you stated. The label we use for ingredients can be found on this page and contains distilled white vinegar, not malt vinegar: https://www.leaperrins.com/product/00051600000013/LEA-&-PERRINS-Original-Worcestershire-Sauce-10-oz-Bottle
The orange label Lea and Perrins contains gluten.
You can also buy a beige label Lea and Perrins in the U.S – this is the gluten free one.
Thanks so much for the heads up Sherri! Really appreciate your comment.