Is Corona Beer Gluten Free?

Corona (Extra) is a popular pale lager beer produced in Mexico by Cervecería Modelo and Constellation Brands. Corona is owned by Grupo Modelo and Anheuser-Busch InBev.

You can find Corona Beer at almost every liquor store and bar, so many people are wondering:

Is Corona Beer Gluten Free?

The answer is: NO


According to Corona’s FAQs on their website: ‘There isn’t an accepted methodology for testing gluten content in fermented beverages, so we cannot provide an accurate amount of gluten in our beers. There are traces of gluten in all our beers. We recommend that you consult your physician regarding consumption.’

No Corona Beers are considered gluten free. This includes the Corona Familiar Beer, Corona Premier Beer, Corona Extra Beer, Coronita Beer, and Corona Light Beer varieties. It also includes the 0.0% non-alcoholic Corona Sunbrew drink that contains barley malt as well. Corona Refresca also contains gluten.

Is corona beer gluten free?

If you are Celiac or gluten intolerant, it is most likely not safe for you to drink Corona beers. Corona states, ‘we recommend that you consult your physician regarding consumption’ on their website FAQs.

However; based on research found on Wikipedia and from other sources, Corona contains less than 20 ppm of gluten in each beer making it gluten free by legal standards. From Wikipedia:

wikipedia corona gluten free source

Here are screenshots from the research found on Wayback Machine that was done by the Swedish National Food Agency. One thing to keep in mind is that these tests were done in October of 2005 so the research may not be accurate today, over 12 years later. Another thing to keep in mind is that the beer tested was produced by Cerveceria Modelo, Mexico so the same information may not apply to Corona that is produced by Constellation Brands and exported to the United States.

If you are unsure, it is still recommended by Corona that you consult your physician. Last updated: May 16, 2022

corona gluten free research

The Gluten Free Alcohol List

Featuring gluten free vodkas, whiskey, gin, tequila, beers, hard ciders, and more. View the Gluten Free Alcohol List here.


SEE ALSO – Is Jose Cuervo Gluten Free?


Looking for more gluten free ideas and products? Check these articles out:


Are these other popular products gluten free?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.