Is A&W Root Beer Gluten Free?

A&W Root Beer is one of the most popular root beer brands in America and beyond. Starting in 1919 with the A&W Restaurant Chain, this soft drink has stuck around for over 100 years already!

Let’s find out if this classic root beer product from A&W contains any wheat or gluten ingredients . . .

Is A&W Root Beer Gluten Free?



A&W root beer is free from wheat and is listed as vegan. This is confirmed on A&W’s website in their Nutrition and Allergies/Sensitivities PDF.

*However; A&W lists their root beer and diet root beer as gluten sensitive. This may be due to certain ingredients or cross-contamination factors.

FINALLY, as far back as 2007 users were commenting that A&W Root Beer is gluten free on the forums. Unless the recipe has changed, this is likely to still be true. So, all in all, we recommend making an informed decision based on your own personal dietary restrictions for this one.

Once a team member is able to try A&W root beer, we will update this post with any information about reactions, etc. if there are issues.


A&W Root Beer Options

  • A&W Root Beer
  • A&W Diet Root Beer


a&w root beer floats

Photo: A&W Restaurants Facebook page


A&W Root Beer Ingredients

Carbonated water, sucrose, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, natural and artificial flavors, sodium benzoate, phosphoric acid, and red #40. (source)


A&W Root Beer Nutrition Facts

A&W Root Beer contains 20 oz. Each regular sized cup contains one serving size that is

  • Calories: 290
  • Total Fat: 0g
  • Sodium: 135mg
  • Total Carbohydrate: 78g
  • Total Sugars: 75g
  • Protein: 0g
  • Contains Calcium


Visit the official A&W Website

View all A&W Root Beer Information:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.