Barq’s is a popular root beer brand owned by The Coca-Cola Company. They are known for their slogan, ‘Barq’s has bite’.
The root beer was invented by Edward Charles Edmond Barq Sr. in Biloxi, Mississippi, in 1898. Since then, Barq’s has exploded in popularity and cemented its legacy as one of the top root beer brands.
Let’s find out if this over 100 year old root beer contains any wheat or gluten ingredients . . .
Is Barq’s Root Beer Gluten Free?
Yes, Barq’s Root Beer is gluten free and safe for people with Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy. There are no gluten containing ingredients, and you can read the full ingredients list below. This is confirmed by multiple sources including Verywell Fit and Rachael Roehmholdt.
- Barq’s Root Beer
- Barq’s Zero Sugar Root Beer
- Barq’s Creme Soda French Vanilla
- Barq’s Red Creme Soda
- Barq’s Diet Root Beer
Photo: Barq’s website
Barq’s Root Beer Ingredients
CARBONATED WATER, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, CARAMEL COLOR, SODIUM BENZOATE (TO PROTECT TASTE), CITRIC ACID, CAFFEINE, ARTIFICIAL AND NATURAL FLAVORS, ACACIA. (source)
Barq’s Root Beer Nutrition Facts
Barq’s Root Beer contains 12 fl. oz. per can. This serving contains:
- Calories: 160
- Total Fat: 0g
- Sodium: 65mg
- Total Carbohydrate: 44g
- Total Sugars: 44g
- Protein: 0g
- Contains Caffeine
Visit the official Barq’s Website
View all Barq’s information here: https://www.barqs.com/