Is Dolmio Bolognese Sauce Gluten Free?

Dolmio Bolognese Sauce is identical to a bolognese pasta sauce that you’d make from scratch at home but without the fuss and preparation.

Dolmio Bolognese is described on the official website as follows:

The Italian favourite. Who doesn’t enjoy a tasty, healthy and wholesome Bolognese? A careful balance of ripe tomatoes, basilico fresco and a pinch of herbs and spices. It’s easy to enjoy the taste of today’s Italy with DOLMIO® – the No. 1 Bolognese in the UK.

In addition to Bolognese Original,  Dolmio Bolognese is available in the following flavors:

  • Spicy Chilli
  • Chunky Mushroom
  • Smooth Hidden Veg
  • Onion & Garlic
  • Smooth Tomato
  • No Added Sugar
  • Low Fat


Let’s find out if this Italian favorite is gluten-free.

Is Dolmio Bolognese Sauce Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES*


*Dolmio Bolognese Sauce is available in a Gluten-Free variant which is clearly labeled “Dolmio Gluten Free Bolognese Sauce.”


Although all the ingredients listed Dolmio Bolognese are free of gluten, we would recommend that you seek out Dolmio Bolognese Sauce Gluten Free as this is guaranteed to cause you no harm and is safe for coeliacs to consume.

dolmio bolognese

Photo: Tesco


Dolmio Bolognese Original Ingredients

Tomatoes (78%) Tomato Paste (10%) Onion Sugar Modified Maize Starch Salt Sunflower Oil Basil (0.3%) Garlic Acidity Regulator (Citric Acid) Parsley Herbs Spices

Nutritional Information

Every 100g of Dolmio Bolognese Original consumed contains 44 calories. This consists of 7.9g carbs, 1.3g protein, 0.6g fat, 1.3g fiber, and 0.7g salt  – source


For more information on Dolmio Bolognese sauces, check out the official website here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.