Is HP Sauce Gluten Free?

HP Sauce is most famously known for its brown sauce. It was originally produced by HP Foods in the United Kingdom but is now produced by The Heinz Company.

The Heinz Company own and produce products such as Heinz Baked Beans and Heinz Ketchup.

Since the first appearance on British dinner tables, HP Sauce has not only become an icon of British culture but has grown to also become a popular international brand.

Let’s find out if this sauce is gluten-free . . .

Is HP Sauce Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

HP Sauce is not gluten free and should, therefore, be avoided. It is made with rye flour and a malt-based vinegar. Both rye and malt are gluten ingredients which means that HP Sauce is not a suitable condiment if you have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease or are gluten intolerant.

Here is a list of the current products from HP Sauce:

All products from HP Sauce contain gluten!

  • Hp Honey Bbq

  • Hp Fruity

  • Hp Brown Sauce

  • Hp Classic Bbq

  • Hp Reduced Salt & Sugar

hp sauce condiments

Photo: Wikimedia


HP Sauce Ingredients

HP Sauce has a tomato base, blended with malt vinegar and spirit vinegar, sugars (molasses, glucose-fructose syrup, sugar), dates, cornflour, rye flour, salt, spices and tamarind

HP Brown Sauce Nutritional Facts

Every 15g of HP Brown Sauce contains 4.2g of carbs, 0.1g of protein, a trace of fat and 0.2g of salt.

For more information on HP Sauce, head over to

Read next: Is Jack Daniel’s Mustard Gluten Free?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.