Is Lion Bar Gluten Free?

Lion Bar was launched in 1976 and is a chocolate bar that is now made by Nestlé.

It is described by Nestle as having “rugged appearance and combination of chewy caramel, crispy wafer and crunchy cereals covered in chocolate its provided a substantial, multi-textural, bite across the decades”.

Lion is a filled wafer with caramel and cereals covered in milk chocolate.


The Lion range consists of: 

  • Lion Bar
  • Lion Milk Duo
  • Lion Milk 4pk
  • Lion Peanut 4pk


The main ingredients and composition of each Lion Bar is filled wafer, caramel (32%) and crisp cereal (26%), covered in milk chocolate (42%).

Let’s find out if it is gluten-free.


Is Lion Bar Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO


Lion Bars are not gluten-free because they are made and loaded with wheat flour. They should, therefore, be avoided if you are trying to avoid gluten and keep it out of your diet.


nestle lion chocolate bar

Photo: Peakpx



Glucose-Fructose Syrup, Sugar, Wheat Flour, Sweetened Condensed Milk (Milk, Sugar), Cocoa Butter, Palm Oil, Whole Milk Powder, Cocoa Mass, Whey Powder (from Milk), Maltodextrin, Skimmed Milk Powder, Wheat Starch, Emulsifier (Sunflower Lecithin), Salt, Raising Agent (Sodium Bicarbonate), Caramelised Sugar, Natural Vanilla Flavouring, Thickener (Carrageenan).


Nutritional Information

Each bar (55g) contains 269 calories. This consists of 35g carbs, 3g protein, 12g fat, and 0.5g sodium – source:

For more information on Lion Bar head over to the Lion Bar page here

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.