Is Honeycomb Cereal Gluten Free?

Honeycomb Cereal is a sweetened corn and oat cereal in a unique big honeycomb shape.

Founded in 1965, its honey-sweet taste has had kids of all ages loving this cereal for almost 50 years.

According to Post Consumer Brands, the company behind Honeycomb Cereal; “Honeycomb is a unique and playful cereal that lets you be YOU!” – source.

honeycomb cereal bowl

Photo: Wikimedia

 

Let’s find out if this honey sweet cereal is free of gluten . . .

Is Honeycomb Cereal Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO

Honeycomb Cereal contains whole-grain wheat and oat flour and is therefore NOT gluten free.

Wheat is a grain that is loaded with gluten. Therefore we can safely say that Honeycomb Cereal must be avoided if you are gluten intolerant or suffer from coeliac disease.

honeycomb ingredients

Photo: Post

Ingredients

Corn Flour, Sugar, Whole Grain Oat Flour, Marshmallow Bits (Sugar, Corn Syrup, Modified Cornstarch, Dextrose, Gelatin, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Red 40, Blue 1, Sodium Hexametaphosphate, Natural And Artificial Flavor), Whole Grain Corn Flour, Honey, Salt, Natural Flavor, Yellow 5. Bht Added To Packaging Material To Preserve Product Freshness.

Nutritional Information

Each 1 3/4 cup serving of Honeycomb Cereal contains 160 calories. This consists of 35g carbs, 2g protein, 1g fat, and 0.190g sodium – source

For more information on Honeycomb Cereal, head over to the Post Consumer Brands website here: https://www.postconsumerbrands.com/honeycomb/

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.