Is Marzipan Gluten Free?

Originating in the Middle East, marzipan was considered a luxury item in medieval times due to its use of almonds, which were expensive. Today, it’s more accessible and commonly used in confectionery treats, desserts, chocolates, and by itself!

What is Marzipan?

Marzipan is a sweet treat with a rich history and a simple yet delightful composition. It’s primarily made from ground almonds and sugar, creating a smooth, dough-like texture. This mixture can be shaped into various forms, making it a favorite among pastry chefs and cake decorators for crafting intricate edible decorations.

Some of the most iconic and commonly seen uses of marzipan are the small, realistic-looking fruits like oranges, grapes, and apples. These miniature treats not only showcase the versatility of marzipan but also offer a pleasant contrast of textures – a smooth outer layer with a slightly chewy interior.

Related: Is Orgeat Gluten Free?

Is Marzipan Gluten Free?



Marzipan is not always gluten free, so you have to be careful when buying it and getting it from bakeries/stores. Always check the label! Traditional marzipan typically consists of primarily sugar, honey, and almond meal, while sometimes containing almond oil or extracts.

Here’s another confusing part about marzipan, some brands labeled gluten free still contain wheat! Odense is a popular brand of marzipan and almond paste that used glucose syrup (which contains wheat), but is well under the limit of 20 PPM by the FDA.

Their product has a disclaimer that states, ‘*Odense Marzipan contains less than 20 parts of gluten per million (ppm). Pursuant to FDA regulations, products containing less than 20 ppm of gluten are gluten free.’

I’ve tried the marzipan without a reaction, so it’s surprising, but interesting to be able to safely eat a product that contains wheat. Similar to Schar’s Croissants which contain ‘gluten free wheat starch’ and are also safely gluten free!

Popular Treats with Marzipan:

  • Mini Marzipan Fruits
  • Marzipan Cookies
  • Cake Coverings

International Delicacies

Marzipan is used in a variety of traditional sweets and pastries in different countries all over the world. For example, it’s a key ingredient in German stollen and Spanish turrón.

marzipan fruit candies

Photo: Tamara Malaniy


Marzipan Ingredients

Example Product: Odense Marzipan

Ingredients: sugar, almonds (28%), glucose syrup (From wheat), water.

Allergens: contains tree nuts (almonds), wheat* *Odense Marzipan contains less than 20 parts of gluten per million (ppm). Pursuant to FDA regulations, products containing less than 20 ppm of gluten are gluten free.



Marzipan Nutritional Facts

Example Product: Odense Marzipan

Nutrition Facts
SERVING SIZE: 2 tbsp (39g)

Amount Per Serving
Calories: 170
Calories from Fat: 54

%Daily Value*
Total Fat: 6g 8%
Saturated Fat .4g 2%
Trans Fat 0g 0%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 1mg 0%
Total Carbohydrates 27g 10%
Dietary Fiber 1g 4%
Sugars 21g
Protein 2g
Vitamin A 0%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 3%
Iron 4%



Learn more and read about the history of marzipan here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.