Is Mrs Butterworth Syrup Gluten Free?

Mrs Butterworth’s is an American brand of syrups by Pinnacle Foods. The syrups are thick, rich, with a  buttery taste and come in distinctive bottles shaped in the form of a matronly woman, Mrs Butterworth.

The syrup was introduced in 1961 and For over 50 years has been offering America’s favourite syrup which is popular with kids and adults alike – a true American icon.

Let find out if this true icon can be enjoyed by the gluten sensitive too.

Is Mrs. Butterworth Syrup Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: YES

Mrs. Butterworth Syrup

The question was answered in detail by Consumer Insights Representative from the company here.

You can see the complete reply to the question below:

November 25, 2008

I had read on other threads that this syrup contained gluten..after a recent discussion with the owner of a gluten-free store here in Idaho, I decided to contact them again and here is the response I received today.

Dear Ms. Chandler:

Thank you for taking the time to inquire about Pinnacle Foods Group, LLC and the products we produce which may be gluten-free. We appreciate your interest in our company and our products.

Mrs. Butterworth’s Syrup does not contain gluten. We do recommend that you continue to review the list of ingredients on the package prior to purchase to assure that you are meeting your specific dietary needs.

Since we are constantly improving our products, ingredients may change from time to time.

We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your specific concerns with us, as it helps us to become aware of consumer needs. Thank you again for your contact.

Sincerely,

Catherine Senick

Consumer Insights Representative
001040656A

All the ingredients on the label are gluten-free, but as stated “ingredients may change from time to time”

If you have a severe case of Celiac Disease, we would recommend that you keep an eye on the product label and contact a Consumer Insights Representative at Pinnacle Foods.

Consider using products that 100% Maple Syrup, and/or certified as gluten-free.

Mrs Butterworth’s syrup ingredients

High Fructose Corn Syrup, Corn Syrup, Water, Salt, Cellulose Gum, Molasses, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative) Sodium Hexametaphosphate, Citric Acid, Caramel Color, Natural and Artificial Flavors.

Nutritional Facts

Source – Each 1/4 cup (60ml) serving contains around 200 calories. They also contain 0g of protein, 51g of carbohydrates, 0g of fat, 0g of fibre, and 150mg of Sodium.

For more information on Mrs Butterworth’s syrup and to contact Pinnacle Food, click here: http://pinnaclefoods.com/brands/mrs-butterworths

2 thoughts on “Is Mrs Butterworth Syrup Gluten Free?”

    • Hey Mel, this is not always true.

      Caramel colour can be made from a variety of ingredients and is often made from corn or sugarcane-based ingredients.

      You are right to be cautious as caramel colour is sometimes derived from wheat/barley malt, but in this case, the company has confirmed the product to be gluten-free.

      This means that the caramel colour is either derived from non-gluten containing source ingredients, or its use does not add more than 20ppm gluten to the overall product.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.