Is Ryvita Gluten Free?

Ryvita is a rye-based crispbread originally manufactured by the Ryvita Company.

The company was founded in Birmingham, England, in 1925 by John Edwin Garratt, and is today a subsidiary of Associated British Foods. ABS products include Ovaltine and Twinings.

Let’s find out if this crispbread is gluten-free.

We kind of gave it away at the beginning of this article.

Is Ryvita Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: No

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Ryvita Range

According to Ryvita – source:

Wheat flour is the primary ingredient in Thins, Crackerbread and also appears in Fruit Crunch, Bakes and our Crackers. Sufferers of wheat allergy or intolerance should avoid these products. All other Ryvita products are made with rye, in a bakery where wheat flour is also used.

All product made by Ryvita are not gluten-free and should, therefore, should be avoided, especially if you have been diagnosed with Celiac disease.

Ryvita make a number of products within the following categories

  • Crunchy Rye Breads
  • Fruit Crunch
  • Protein Crunchy Rye Breads
  • Thins
  • Crackerbread
  • Rye Cakes

For more information on each of the Ryvita products head over to the website here

4 thoughts on “Is Ryvita Gluten Free?”

  1. is Ryvita Rye crispbread gluten free ? I just have an intorlerance to wheat based products. No allergy or anything. I have been eating them as an alternative to bread or a cracker

    • Hey Shellie, no it’s not gluten free because rye still has gluten, but if you are just intolerant to wheat itself, this may be ok. I would consult with your physician to confirm. Hope this helps! 🙂


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.