Are Starburst Gluten Free?

Starburst is the brand name of a box-shaped, fruit-flavored soft taffy candy manufactured by The Wrigley Company, a subsidiary of Mars, Incorporated.

Starburst has many different varieties such as Tropical, Sour, FaveReds, Very Berry, Superfruit Flavor, Summer Blast, and Original

Let’s answer your question:

Are Starburst Gluten Free?

The answer is: YES (but only in the USA, see below)

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Starburst Candies

The information provided on The Wrigley Company website is vague.

We discovered that if you’re in the United States, you can consider Starburst candy (including seasonal candy) to be gluten-free. However, if you are outside the USA, you may want to contact The Wrigley Company for further clarification.

All U.S. Wrigley chewing gum and confectionery products are gluten-free with the exception of some products, (for example, Altoids Smalls Peppermint Mints) which contain ingredients derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and may contain trace amounts of gluten.

Such products are not labelled as ‘gluten-free’ and on their labels, it is clearly mentioned that they contain wheat-derived ingredients like wheat maltodextrin, wheat fibre, or wheat flour.

Nutritional FactsFull Details

There are 160 calories in a 8 pieces serving of Starburst Original Fruit Chews. Calorie breakdown: 17% fat, 83% carbs, 0% protein.

4 thoughts on “Are Starburst Gluten Free?”

  1. I have had repeated instances of tropical Starburst being contaminated. It’s taken me months to figure this out, bc I thought there was no way. But I eliminated everything-thought I found a culprit…. then no. It’s gotten to a point there just aren’t any other variables
    I get DH and have a very specific set of symptoms when I’m exposed.
    I decided to search and see if I wasn’t the only one, but it seems like everyone just says they are gluten free….. so just beware.

    • According to Wrigley, they are manufactured on clean equipment. Though, I do agree it’s important to listen to your body when figuring out what you can and can’t consume. With that said, be sure to check everything you’re eating – perhaps there’s something else you’re assuming is GF when it isn’t. I too get DH, but it takes 2~ days to show up after exposure, which makes it tricky to figure out what is was.

    • Where are you located? There is a possibility they are safe, but we recommend contacting Wrigley directly depending on your region to confirm!


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.