Fritos is a brand of corn chips and dipping sauces that are currently produced by the Frito-Lay division of PepsiCo.
The popularity of Fritos corn chips puts this iconic snack in a class of its own. From small towns and family barbecues to parties in the big city, this classic snack is still satisfying fans.
In this review, we will be specifically focusing on Fritos corn chips. So let’s find out is this classic snack gluten-free.
Are Fritos Gluten Free?
The Answer is: YES (only some of the flavors are safe)
Unlike the similar tortilla chips, which are made from cornmeal and use the nixtamalization process (known as masa), Fritos are made by deep-frying extruded whole cornmeal.
Only the Originals flavor is safe for gluten-sensitive and people with Celiacs disease. The other flavored chips among the range may contain gluten due to the additional flavoring which may be contaminated.
Fritos corn chips are available in various flavors including:
- Originals ( gluten free )
- Spiced Jalapeno
- Chilli Cheese
- Classic Ranch
- Flamin Hot
- Honey BBQ
- Lightly Salted
A full list of gluten-free products made by FritoLay; a division of Pepsi Co can be found here:
According to the list, these are the ONLY confirmed gluten free Fritos:
- FRITOS® Lightly Salted Corn Chips
- FRITOS® Original Corn Chips
- FRITOS® Reduced Fat Original Corn Chips
- FRITOS® Scoops!® Corn Chips
Fritos Originals Ingredients
Corn, Corn Oil and Salt
Fritos Originals Nutritional Facts
Each 28-gram bag of Fritos Originals contains 160 calories, which equates to 10g of fat, 15 g of carbs, 2 grams of protein and 0.17 g of salt.
For more information on Fritos, check out the official website in addition to more info on the other flavors.