Are Reese’s Gluten Free?

Reese’s are an American chocolate candy created by The Hershey Company. It piece of candy consists of milk, white, or dark chocolate cup filled with peanut butter.

The Hershey Company also produces well-known brands such as Milk Duds, Snickers, Kit-Kat and Kisses.

Let’s find out if these chocolate cups filled with peanut cream are gluten-free.


Is Reese’s Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: YES

Hershey’s Reese’s are labeled gluten-free (not certified) by The Hershey Company.

Any food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticale, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods, or, if such grain is present, the level of such gluten protein has been reduced to less than 20 parts per million.

View the full list of ALL gluten free products from The Hershey Company here.

reese's gluten free products

Photo: Hershey Company

According to The Hershey Company, the following varieties of Reese’s are gluten-free.


List of Hershey’s Reese’s Gluten-Free Candy

  • Reese’s Original Peanut Butter Cups – All gluten-free Except Seasonal Shaped Items

  • Reese’s Fast Break Bar

  • Reese’s Nutrageous Bar

  • Reese’s Unwrapped Mini Minis – Milk Chocolate and White

  • Reese’s Pieces Candy – All gluten-free except Reese’s Pieces Eggs

  • Reese’s Pieces Peanut Butter Cups – All gluten-free except Seasonal Shaped Items

Nearly all Reese’s products are gluten free. You just have to watch out for the holiday and seasonal shaped items. This includes Reese’s Eggs for Easter, Reese’s Trees for Christmas, Reese’s Pumpkins for Halloween, and any other special themed Reese’s cups.

Also keep in mind that Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs cereal is NOT gluten free and may contain wheat.

Reese's Holiday Trees

4 thoughts on “Are Reese’s Gluten Free?”

  1. Can someone explain why the “pieces eggs” are not safe? Ingredients: sugar, partially defatted peanuts, hydrogenated, vegetable oil, palm, kernel oil, soy bean oil, corn syrup, salads, dextrose, contains 2% or less than of artificial color, parentheses including yellow, five Lake, blue to Lake, red 40 lake, blue one lake,) corn syrup, palm, kernel oil, confectioners glaze, salt, modified corn starch, lecithin, (soy), carnauba wax, vanillin (artificial vanilla), milk. contains.: peanuts, milk, soy.
    I ate just one a thought “it’s Reese’s I better double check. Now I wait. I have a neurological reaction not your typical GI distress.

    • Hi Jeanne, thanks for your comment! Unfortunately a lot of the holiday candy products have different manufacturing processes, so cross-contamination is the risk. This is why the eggs, Christmas trees, etc. aren’t usually labeled with the gluten free box. Hope this helps.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.