Is Kit-Kat Gluten-Free?

KIT KAT is a chocolate-covered wafer bar created by Rowntree’s of York, United Kingdom, and is now produced globally by Nestlé, which acquired Rowntree in 1988.

This does not include the United States, where it is made under license by H.B. Reese Candy Company, a division of The Hershey Company.

KIT KAT is well known for is the catchy and memorable slogan “Have a break, Have a Kit-Kat”, however, is this slogan also applicable to people who are gluten intolerant.

Let’s find out:

Are Kit-Kat Bars Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: No*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Kit Kat Bar

*KIT KAT Wafer Bars are not gluten-free because they contain wheat. The crunchy wafer section of a KIT KAT is made from flour/wheat, and is therefore unsuitable for Coeliacs of the gluten-intolerant.

KIT KAT has an assortment of 5 categories of products. Each category (see list below) contains various flavors including milk and dark chocolate. These are:

  • 4 Finger
  • 2 Finger
  • Bites
  • Chunky
  • Senses

Note: None of the products in the Kit-Kat range are gluten-free.


Sugar, wheat flour, cocoa butter, nonfat milk, chocolate, refined palm kernel oil, lactose (milk), milk fat, contains 2% or less of soy lecithin, PGPR (emulsifier), yeast, artificial flavor, salt, and sodium bicarbonate.

Nutritional Facts

Each serving of the classic 4 Finger bar contains around 209 calories. They also contain 2.8g of protein, 26.1g of carbohydrates, 10.2g of fat, 0.9g of fibre, and 0.10g of Sodium.

For more information on KIT KAT, head over to their website here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.