Lucozade is a sports and energy soft drink that originated in the UK. It is now owned and manufactured by the Japanese company Suntory. It is available in 2 variants:
- Lucozade Energy – The original carbonated orange-flavoured drink
- Lucozade Sport – Hydration products for athletes
Let’s find out if these sports and energy soft drinks are gluten-free.
Is Lucozade Energy Gluten Free?
The Answer is: YES
According to the Lucozade Energy website – source:
We do not use any ingredients which contain gluten in our Lucozade Energy drinks.
Is Lucozade Sport Gluten Free?
The Answer is: YES
According to the Lucozade Sport’s website – source:
The following flavours do not have any gluten containing ingredients:
Sport Body fuel: Orange, Caribbean Burst, Brazilian Guava, Orange Tablets.
Low Cal: Orange, Lemon & Lime.
Elite: Orange, Citrus, Orange Gel
Photo: Lucozade Sport
It is, therefore, safe to say that ALL Lucozade Energy drinks are gluten-free.
Pay careful attention to the labelling when considering Lucozade Sport and only consume the products listed above and stated on the official website as being gluten-free.
Lucozade Energy Ingredients
Carbonated Water, Glucose Syrup (11%), Orange Juice from Concentrate (6%), Acid (Citric Acid), Acidity Regulator (Sodium Gluconate), Preservative (Potassium Sorbate), Sweeteners (Aspartame, Acesulfame-K), Stabiliser (Acacia Gum), Caffeine, Flavourings, Antioxidant (Ascorbic Acid), Colour (Beta Carotene)
Contains a source of Phenylalanine – source
Lucozade Energy Nutritional Information
Typical values per 100ml
Energy, kJ / kcal 149 / 35
Carbohydrate, g 8.4
of which sugars, g 4.5
Salt, g 0.06
Contains negligible amounts of – Fat, Saturates and Protein. Contains 7.9g glucose based carbohydrate per 100ml and 30.0g per 380ml bottle.
For more information head over to one of the following official websites: