Is Masago Gluten Free?

Masago comes from the eggs of the Capelin fish.  Also known as the roe, these are highly sought after as an ingredient in sushi. From ‘Masago is the roe of Capelin, an Atlantic and Artic fish. Perhaps the tropical sun is needed to give Tobiko roe its bright colors, as Masago is dull and usually dyed before it is eaten to give it a more pleasing appearance. While Masago shares a similar taste to Tobiko, it lacks the same distinctive crunch and is in general a more boring and less versatile ingredient than Tobiko in sushi cuisine. This has not stopped many sushi restaurants from substituting Masago for Tobiko because of one big difference between the two roe – Masago is noticeably cheaper than Tobiko.’

Because Masago is used in so many sushi rolls and other dishes, many people are wondering . . .

Is Masago Gluten Free?



Yes, Masago is entirely made of fish eggs that come from the capelin fish. These are free from any other ingredients and allergens, including wheat and gluten. Masago does come from fish so that is the only allergen to consider.

Masago is gluten free and safe to consume for people with Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy.



Photo: Joe Bielawa


Masago Ingredients

Smelt roe — commonly known as masago — are the edible eggs of the capelin fish (Mallotus villosus), which belong to the smelt family. (Source: Healthline)


Nutritional Information

Learn more about Masago and its nutritional facts in this helpful article from Healthline:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.