Is Milo Gluten-Free?

Milo was developed in Australia by inventor Thomas Mayne in 1934. It is a chocolate and malt powder typically mixed with hot water and milk to produce a chocolate beverage.

It is commonly found in South America, Southeast Asia and parts of Africa.

Milo is owned and produced by Nestlé and claims to “offers essential vitamins and minerals to meet the nutrition and energy demands of young bodies and minds”.

Let’s find out this chocolate and malt powder is gluten-free…

Is Milo Gluten-Free?

The Answer is:  No*

Milo Malt Chocolate Drinks

*According to the Milo website:

MILO® is NOT gluten free; this is indicated on the ingredient list on the label. MILO® contains traces of gluten from the malt barley and other grains used in producing MILO®. Gluten is found naturally in wheat, barley, rye, triticale and oats.

It is safe to say that if you are sensitive to gluten or have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease that you should avoid Milo.

Milo Powder Ingredients

Extract of malted barley, milk solids, sugar, cocoa vegetable oil [containing one or more of the following: palm oil, palm olein, coconut oil, palm kernel oil, whey, corn oil, soya oil] whey ACTIGEN-E [dicalcium phosphate, magnesium carbonate ascorbic acid, vitamin pp, ferric pyrophosphate, calcium-d-pantothenate, vitamin B6, vitamin B2, vitamin B1, D-biotin, vitamin B12, disodium phosphate, vanillin, maltodextrin.

CONTAINS GLUTEN, MILK AND SOY

For more information on Milo head over to the Nestle website and go to this page: https://www.nestle.com/brands/allbrands/milo

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.