Is Prego Classic Pasta Sauce Gluten Free?

Prego Farmers’ Market is a popular sauce that is owned and distributed by the Campbell Soup Company.

Prego makes a number of sauces and in this post, we will specifically be focusing on their classic range. At the time of writing the traditional pasta sauce is available in nineteen different flavours and counting.

So, you’re probably wondering, “does prego sauce have gluten in it?”

Let’s find out . . .

Is Prego Classic Pasta Sauce Glute Free?

The answer is: YES (certain flavours)

The Cambell Soup Company state on its dedicated website that addresses the matter the following:

We have a strict two-step process for validating a product as gluten-free and ensuring that it meets FDA’s criteria for the claim. First, we verify all the ingredients are gluten-free, then we analyze the finished product to make sure it meets all relevant requirements.

Also, According to the FAQ section of the Prego website the following flavours are stated as gluten-free:

Prego® Italian Sauce

  • Creamy Vodka
  • Flavored with Meat
  • Fresh Mushroom
  • Italian Sausage & Garlic
  • Marinara
  • No Sugar Added
  • Roasted Garlic & Herb
  • Roasted Garlic Parmesan
  • Sensitive Recipe
  • Spicy Red Pepper
  • Spicy Sausage
  • Three Cheese
  • Tomato Basil Garlic

And YES, Prego traditional spaghetti sauce is gluten-free.

Related: Is Dolmio Bolognese Sauce Gluten Free?


alfredo prego sauces

Photo: Prego


Prego Traditional Pasta Sauce ingredients

Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Diced Tomatoes In Tomato Juice, Sugar, Canola Oil, Contains Less Than 1% Of: Salt, Dehydrated Onions, Spices, Citric Acid, Dehydrated Garlic, Onion Extract, Garlic Extract.


You can also check out the Campbell US Gluten-Free List here

For more information check out the Prego website here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.