White Castle is a popular fast-food chain known for their sliders. You may have seen this chain before in the famous movie, ‘Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle‘.
The restaurant chain has 370+ locations across the United States with the most in the midwest. The company started back in 1921 in Kansas and is considered the world’s first fast-food hamburger chain.
Let’s find out what kind of gluten free options this classic slider fast-food chain has!
Related: COOK OUT Gluten Free Menu Items and Options
What is gluten free at White Castle?
In this article and guide, we’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at White Castle. This information is based off of White Castle’s Nutritional PDF.
The company states:
White Castle System, Inc., its subsidiaries and employees do not assume responsibility for a particular allergy or sensitivity to any food provided in our restaurants. Federal regulations have identified 8 major food allergens: milk, eggs, wheat, soybeans, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, and crustacean shellfish. For your convenience, menu items and ingredients that contain these major allergens have been indicated. All food is prepared in common kitchens that may involve some shared cooking and preparation areas, equipment and utensils, and the possibility exists for your food items to come in contact with other food products, including allergens.
White Castle Gluten Free Menu
These are all the gluten free options we could find at White Castle. Note all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten, based on information we found from ingredients list and website.
Notice anything missing or incorrect? Leave a comment below. This article was last updated: March 11, 2023
Burgers
These are all of the burger options at White Castle that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients. Keep in mind cross-contamination risk is extremely high here and these items are most likely not safe for people with Celiac Disease.
- Beef Patty (100% USDA Beef. Seasoned with salt and pepper. Cooked on grill with onions and hamburger buns
that contain wheat.) - Dr. Praeger’s Veggie Patty
Toppings
- Lettuce
- Tomato
- Hamburger Onions
- Cheddar Cheese
- American Cheese
- Jalapeno Cheese
- Smoked Cheddar Cheese
- Pickle Slices
- Bacon Strips
Sides
These are all of the side options at White Castle that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients. Keep in mind cross-contamination risk is extremely high here and these items are most likely not safe for people with Celiac Disease.
- French Fries
- Cheese Fries
- Loaded Fries
- Sloppy Fries
- Mott’s Snack and Go Natural Applesauce Pouch
Breakfast
These are all of the breakfast options at White Castle that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients. Keep in mind cross-contamination risk is extremely high here and these items are most likely not safe for people with Celiac Disease.
- Sausage Patty
- Hash Brown Nibblers
- Eggs
- Bologna
Condiments
These are all of the condiment options at White Castle that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Ketchup
- Fat-Free Honey Mustard
- Cheddar Cheese Sauce
- Nacho Cheese Sauce
- Smoky BBQ Sauce
- BBQ Sauce Tubs
- BBQ Sauce Packets
- Fat-Free Honey Mustard Tubs
- Fat-Free Honey Mustard Packets
- Everything Sauce
- Hot Sauce Packets
- Marinara Tubs
- Mayonnaise Packets
- Ranch Tubs
- Ranch Dressing
- Lemon Juice
- Strawberry Jam
- Grape Jelly
- Tartar Sauce Tubs
- Tartar Sauce Packets
- Zesty Zing Sauce Tubs
- Yellow Mustard Packets
- Dusseldorf Mustard Packets
- Yellow Mustard Packets
- Horseradish Mustard Packets
Beverages
These are all of the beverage options at White Castle that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Coffee
- Decaf Coffee
- Hot Tea
- Hot Chocolate
- Iced Tea – Southern Sweet
- Iced Tea – Unsweetened
- Crave Cooler Coke
- Crave Cooler Fanta Wild Cherry
- Chocolate Shake
- Vanilla Shake
- Strawberry Shake
- Strawberry Banana Smoothie
- Strawberry Lemonade Smoothie
- Simply Orange Juice
- Bottled Beverages
- Bottled Water
- 100% Apple Juice Box
- Monster Energy
- Barq’s Red Cream Soda
Photo: White Castle Facebook page
Items to Avoid at White Castle
- Pretty much everything contains gluten here. If you have Celiac Disease, we do not recommend White Castle.
Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at White Castle
Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at White Castle
- When you order at the restaurant or on the app for delivery/pickup, tell them you have an allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your food.
- White Castle has very limited options including a few sides, sliders without the bun, and condiments.
- We are unable to find White Castle on Find Me Gluten Free, indicating no reviews/experiences from gluten free customers. This is yet another sign that for people with Celiac Disease or gluten allergies, you should proceed with caution and/or avoid this chain.
- Personal experiences here are unknown. I will update this post if White Castle ever adds more safe gluten free options for consumers.
Photo: White Castle Facebook page
More Information about White Castle
Looking for additional information about White Castle, their foods, and nutritional/ingredients facts? Here are some resources we’ve found:
- Official White Castle Menu: https://www.whitecastle.com/menu
- Official White Castle Nutritional Information PDF: https://www.whitecastle.com/dA/b7cbe7cd-a7eb-4148-9cbd-98d3d5e135c9
- Official White Castle Ingredients List PDF: https://www.whitecastle.com/pdfs/nutrition/white-castle-ingredient-list.pdf