Is Cadbury Dairy Milk Gluten Free?

Dairy Milk is a brand of milk chocolate manufactured by Cadbury. It was introduced into the United Kingdom at the dawn of the 20th century and now consists of a number of varieties. Dairy Milk is the UKs’ favorite chocolate bar and recently ranked as the best-selling chocolate in the UK.

Let’s find out if this chocolate bar is gluten-free!


Is Cadbury Dairy Milk Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: YES/NO*


The ingredients used to make Dairy Milk are free of gluten however, THEY MAY CONTAIN WHEAT and certain flavors contain wheat. This is due to the fact that they are manufactured in a factory that makes other products that contain gluten.

Original Dairy Milk and flavors like Caramel, Whole Nut, and Daim are most likely free from gluten, but we cannot guarantee this for all Dairy Milk flavors due to the fact that some Dairy Milk bars have the label ‘may contain wheat’ and others contain wheat flour such as the Dairy Milk Oreo flavor. Please be cautious when enjoying these chocolates from Cadbury.

cadbury dairy milk chocolate bar

Photo: Cadbury website

There are various varieties of Cadbury Dairy Milk, all of which are made under the same manufacturing process and most likely make in the same factory. You should avoid all products in the Cadbury Dairy Milk range if you are sensitive to gluten.

Here is a list of some of the varieties of Dairy Milk:

  • Cadbury Dairy Milk

  • Caramel

  • Fruit And Nut

  • Oreo (contains wheat)

  • Wholenut

  • Big Taste Toffee Wholenut

  • Big Taste Tripple Choc

  • Chopped Nut

  • Daim

  • Tiffin

cadbury dairy milk flavors

Photo: Cadbury website


Cadbury Dairy Milk Ingredients:

MILK**, sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, vegetable fats (palm, shea), emulsifiers (E442, E476), flavorings.


Nutritional Facts

Source – Each 100 gram serving of original Cadbury Dairy Milk contains around 543 calories. They also contain 7.3g of protein, 57g of carbohydrates, 30g of fat, 2.1g of fibre, and 0.24g of salt.

Note: These values will vary between flavours.

This article was last updated: February 3, 2020

6 thoughts on “Is Cadbury Dairy Milk Gluten Free?”

  1. Why would Cadbury not make something 10% of the population would buy? You lose whole families. We don’t support those who don’t support our family members with restrictions.

  2. I often wondered why i reacted to this chocolate although it never shows is a shame as dairy milk is a popular chocolate.

  3. It would be really handy for the 65k people in nz who have coeliac to enjoy your lovely products. Please just add a GF on the wrapper for us to shop an feel human again.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.