Jameson is a blended Irish whiskey produced by the Irish Distillers subsidiary of Pernod Ricard. Pernod Ricard has built a unique portfolio of premium international brands which includes, Beefeater Gin, Absolut Vodka and Malibu.
Originally one of the six main Dublin Whiskeys, Jameson is now distilled at the New Midleton Distillery in County Cork.
Jameson is by far the best-selling Irish whiskey in the world and is now available in over 130 countries.
Let’s find out if this best-selling Irish whiskey is gluten-free.
Is Jameson Whiskey Gluten-Free?
The Answer is: NO
Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:
Jameson’s main ingredients are unmalted and malted barley, maize, and Irish water from the Dungourney River local to the distillery.
According to the Jameson Whiskey website, there are no allergens. We would recommend that you are cautious about this one. Although the distillation process is said to remove most, if not all the gluten if you have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease it is recommended that you avoid Jameson Whiskey.
SEE ALSO – Is Smirnoff Ice Gluten Free?
Although some people who are gluten intolerant can drink whiskey without any issue, others who are particularly sensitive to gluten are more susceptible to an allergic reaction.
For more information on Jameson Whiskey, head over to their official website here: https://www.jamesonwhiskey.com
4 thoughts on “Is Jameson Whiskey Gluten Free?”
All whiskeys are gluten free. Crown Royal, Jameson, and Fireball, which you say here are NOT gf are just as gluten free as Jack Daniels, which you say IS gf, but Jack Daniels is made of corn, rye and barley, which are the typical grains in whiskey
Hi Wendy, Jack Daniels shares that the product contains no gluten on their FAQs here: https://www.jackdaniels.com/en-us/faqs
For the other brands, we cannot confirm this. Thanks!
Right. But the other whiskeys you review and say contain gluten do not. Is that because you can’t find a specific gf sticker in their product or mentioned in their website?? All spirits are gluten free. Please don’t spread misinformation. People who have to go gluten free already feel like they are missing out on enough.
This isn’t misinformation Wendy. Keep in mind that additives and other flavorings may be added to products. If we cannot find a gluten free label, or confirmation from a company, we list it as not gluten free or unknown. All distilled spirits are considered gluten free due to the distillation process, but MANY people with Celiac report symptoms from Whisky, Scotch, and other liquors derived from wheat/barley/grain, so it’s not misinformation. See more in this article from Beyond Celiac: https://www.beyondceliac.org/gluten-free-diet/is-it-gluten-free/liquor/whiskey/ Specifically this statement towards the end, ‘Additionally, the TTB continues to permit the term “gluten-free” on labels and in advertisements for alcohol beverages produced without gluten-containing grains or other ingredients containing gluten, provided the industry member takes appropriate measures to ensure that its raw materials, ingredients, production facilities, storage materials, and finished products were not subject to cross-contact with gluten. Examples include vodka made from corn or potatoes. ‘