Parmesan Cheese is a delicious Italian cheese that is produced from cow’s milk and is aged for at least 12 months. Also known as Parmigiano Reggiano in Italian, this delicious cheese is common in salads, pasta dishes, and many other meals.
Being so popular, many people are wondering . . .
Is Parmesan Cheese Gluten Free?
Yes, Parmesan cheese is made entirely from unpasteurised cow’s milk that is processed and cooked with starter whey, which is a mixture of bacteria.
Parmesan contains no outside additives or allergens aside from milk/dairy. However; we do need to share a warning for people with Celiac Disease or a Gluten Allergy. If you purchase mass produced cheese products, including Parmesan, there is a chance of cross contamination or gluten in the factory. Keep this in mind.
Firm, natural cheeses such as Cheddar and Parmesan are less likely to contain gluten according to Medical News Today’s article.
Popular dishes with Parmesan:
- Caesar Salad
- Chicken Parmesan
- Vegetables like Asparagus, Brussel Sprouts, Broccoli, etc. pair great with Parmesan
- Truffle Fries with Parmesan Cheese
Photo: Alexander Maasch
Parmesan Cheese Ingredients
Parmesan Cheese is made from unpasteurised cow’s milk that is processed and cooked with starter whey, which is a mixture of bacteria.
Parmesan Cheese Nutritional Facts
One serving of Parmesan Cheese contains 392 calories, 3.2g of carbs, 25.8g of fat, and 35.75g of protein.
Read more about Parmesan on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parmesan