Are Maltesers Gluten Free?

Maltesers are a British confectionery product manufactured by Mars, Incorporated. Maltesers consist of a spheroid malted milk centre surrounded by milk chocolate.

Maltesers are sold in a variety of packaging, including plastic bags (ranging in size from small ‘fun-size’ upwards), larger cardboard boxes and tubes, and plastic buckets (ranging in size from medium to very large). They also have medium-sized “teasers” in Celebrations boxes. Maltesers are also one of the types of chocolate included in Mars’s Revels assortment.

Maltesers were created by the American Forrest Mars, Sr. in England in 1936, and first sold in 1937. They were originally described as “energy balls” and aimed at slimming women.

In January 2017, Maltesers officially became available in the United States for the first time. The factory in Newmarket, Ontario, Canada produces the Maltesers for the North American market; it is expected the factory exports about 80 percent of its production to the United States

The current Maltesers’ slogan is “The lighter way to enjoy chocolate”.

Question: Are Maltesers Gluten Free

Answer: No

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Allergy Information about Maltesers: Contains Milk, Wheat And Soy. May Contain Egg.

Malteser's Packet

Malteser's Chocolate Balls

Maltesers’ Nutritional Information can be found on the Mars website.

Maltesers’ Ingredients:

Sugar, Skim Milk, Cocoa Butter, Glucose Syrup Solids, Chocolate, Lactose, Barley Malt Extract, Vegetable Oil (Palm Oil, Palm Kernel Oil), Milkfat, Less Than 2% – Soy Lecithin, Sorbitan Tristearate, Leavening (Monocalcium Phosphate, Potassium Bicarbonate, Baking Soda), Wheat Syrup, Pectin, Artificial Flavor.

1 thought on “Are Maltesers Gluten Free?”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.