Is Kona Big Wave Gluten Free?

Kona Big Wave Golden Ale is the most popular beer from Kona Brewing Co. based out of Hawaii. Described as a lighter-bodied golden ale with a tropical flavor and aroma, Big Wave is popular worldwide. It’s especially popular on islands and tropical resorts!

Being so popular around the world, a lot of people are wondering if this golden ale is gluten free . . .

Is Kona Big Wave Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO


Kona Big Wave is not gluten free. This golden ale is made from malts and hops. It is made from wheat/barley products which means it contains gluten. If you have Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy/intolerance this beer is not safe. Check out our list of gluten free alcohol here.


kona big wave

Photo: Kona Brewing Co.




From Kona Brewing Co. ‘The use of caramel malt contributes to the golden hue of this beer, and our special blend of hops provides a bright, quenching finish that makes it a struggle to not grab another one.’


Nutritional Information

ABV% 4.40 | Calories 132 | Carbs (grams) 10.0 | Protein (grams) 1.46 | Fat (grams) 0 | Sodium (mg) 9.19

For more information head over to:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.