Soy sauce is an incredibly popular condiment. It is used for Chinese food, to dip with sushi, and for tons of other Asian dishes. Even beyond that soy sauce is used in recipes for chicken wings, pizza flavors, and much more.
What is Soy Sauce?
Soy sauce is a Chinese sauce ‘traditionally made from a fermented paste of soybeans, roasted grain, brine, and Aspergillus oryzae or Aspergillus sojae molds. It is considered to contain a strong umami taste.’ (via Wikipedia)
Let’s find out if this traditional soy liquid condiment contains any wheat or gluten ingredients . . .
Related question: Is Tzatziki Gluten Free?
Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free?
No, we have frequently found soy sauce to be made from wheat ingredients in a large variety of brands, restaurants, and food products. If you are looking for soy sauce, always seek out brands that are confirmed gluten free and made without any wheat products. For people with Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy/intolerance, stay safe by avoiding any unknown soy sauce at restaurants or in products.
The good news is, there are plenty of gluten free soy sauces available on the market. Here are a few good options:
Gluten Free Soy Sauce List
Kikkoman Certified Gluten-Free Soy Sauce
San-J Gluten Free Tamari and Soy Sauce Products
Lee Kum Kee Gluten-Free Soy Sauce
Related: 7 Great Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce Recipes to Try
Photo: GoodEats YQR
Soy Sauce Ingredients
Example: Kikkoman – Traditionally Brewed Soy Sauce Ingredients
Water, Soybeans, Wheat, Salt, Sodium Benzoate: Less than 1/10 of 1% as a Preservative. (source)
Soy Sauce Nutrition Facts
Example: Kikkoman – Traditionally Brewed Soy Sauce Nutrition Facts
Serv. Size: 1 Tbsp (15mL), Amount Per Serving: Calories 10, Total Fat 0g, Sat. Fat (not listed), Cholesterol (not listed), Sodium 960mg, Total Carb. 1g, Sugars not listed, Protein 2g. (source)
Additional Information about Soy Sauce
Soy sauce in its current form was created about 2,200 years ago during the Western Han dynasty of ancient China, and it has spread throughout East and Southeast Asia where it is used in cooking and as a condiment.
Read more facts about Soy Sauce from Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soy_sauce
Related articles about other soy products: