Guacamole is incredibly popular at Mexican restaurants and for dipping with chips and salsa. Or just chips and guac for the avocado addicts out there.
What is Guacamole?
Guacamole is a popular Mexican dish that consists of mashed avocados, salt, lime, onion, cilantro, and sometimes other seasonings. This dip is often served with chips, in addition to salsa, or as a replacement for people who prefer the avocado flavor.
Let’s find out if this traditional avocado dish contain any wheat or gluten ingredients . . .
Related question: Is Tzatziki Gluten Free?
Is Guacamole Gluten Free?
Yes, traditional and homemade guacamole is gluten free and primarily made up of: Avocado, Lime, Salt, Onion, Cilantro, and potentially some other natural spices.
The place you need to be careful is with avocado spreads, mixes, dips, and other processed products. Through our research we have found multiple brands that contain wheat/gluten ingredients, often in the form of soy sauce or some other flavor additive.
Is Old El Paso Chunky Guacamole Gluten Free? NO! Learn more →
Is Ortega Guacamole Style Dip Gluten Free? NO! Learn more →
Is Wholly Guacamole Gluten Free? YES! Learn more →
Photo: Tessa Rampersad
Traditional Guacamole Ingredients
Example: Ingredients for The Best Authentic Mexican Guacamole Recipe via MyLatinaTable.com
Avocado, Cilantro, Onion, Jalapeno (optional), Lime Juice, Salt, Tomato
Traditional Guacamole Nutrition Facts
Example: Nutrition Facts for The Best Authentic Mexican Guacamole Recipe via MyLatinaTable.com
Serving: 2tbsp | Calories: 79kcal | Carbohydrates: 5g | Protein: 1g | Fat: 5g (source)
Additional Information about Guacamole
Guacamole is traditionally made by mashing peeled, ripe avocados and salt with a molcajete y tejolote (mortar and pestle). Recipes often call for lime juice, cilantro, onions, and jalapeños. Some non-traditional recipes may call for sour cream, tomatoes, basil, or peas.
Due to the presence of polyphenol oxidase in the cells of avocado, exposure to oxygen in the air causes an enzymatic reaction and develops melanoidin pigment, turning the sauce brown. This result is generally considered unappetizing, and there are several methods (some anecdotal) that are used to counter this effect, such as storing the guacamole in an air-tight container or wrapping tightly in plastic to limit the surface area exposed to the air.
Read more facts about Guacamole from Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guacamole
Related articles about Mexican food products:
Related menus from Mexican food restaurants that contain guacamole: