Is Tahini Gluten Free?

Tahini is a delicious dip and middle eastern condiment made from toasted and ground sesame. It tastes amazing with meat dishes, in pita wraps, and is a major ingredient for hummus.

We’ve covered lots of sauces and dips before. Check out some other popular articles about Tzatziki, Sour Cream, Worcestershire Sauce, and many more.

Being such a popular dip, many people are wondering . . .

Is Tahini Gluten Free?



Yes, usually tahini is gluten free as prepared. The typical ingredients for a traditional tahini dip are:

  • Toasted Sesame Seeds
  • Water
  • Salt

Sometimes other seasonings and flavors are added, but it is pretty much always gluten free! Tahini is considered safe for people with Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy. Just watch out for things like pita, bread, pita chips, falafel, bulgur, and other foods that tahini may be served with, spread on, or come into contact with.

Recommended Gluten Free Tahini Recipe:


tahini with hummus


Nutritional Information

Based on a 1 tablespoon serving from the site.

Contains 89 calories, 2.5 grams of protein, 8 grams of fat, and 1.4 grams of fiber. Contains 17mg sodium, 64mg calcium, and 3.2g carbs.



The History of Tahini

Read more about the history of Tahini, where it is popular, and some other cultural facts in the Wikipedia article:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.